About the Building
Before you build any building, you need to build the Builder’s Hut. Without the builder’s hut being built, the builder cannot build any other building.**
Before you choose a place to build it’s Hut, take into account the distances among the other possible building sites and obstacles like water, trees, caves, mountains, lava sources, etc. After you have selected a place for the Hut, you have to craft the Builder’s Hut block and place it with your Building Tool. Once the hut is placed, the builder will be automatically assigned (or you can manually assign one with the best Traits for a builder if you changed this in the settings tab in the Town Hall’s GUI.
Now you will have to issue the “Build” assignment so it can build it’s own hut first. The builder will be asking for the materials it needs. Make sure to check the Resource Scroll or the second page of the Builder’s Hut regularly to see what materials the builder is requesting for any build/upgrade. Any material in the list that is still missing will be in red colored letters.
Once the builder is done you can now start to build anything you want; Worker huts, buildings, decorations or your own schematics.
- Note: The Builder may ONLY build or upgrade any other Worker’s hut up to the level of it’s own hut. So, in order for the builder to upgrade any building, the Builder’s Hut MUST be upgraded first. Then it will be able to upgrade any other building(s).
Builder’s Hut GUI
When accessing the Builder’s Hut block (right clicking on it) you will see a GUI with different options:
The Worker assigned and it's Level. (The worker levels up in time by working. The higher the level the faster and more efficient it will be). And the buttons:
- Hut Level: Tells you the type of hut and the build level of the building you have selected.
- Worker Assigned: Tells you the worker assigned to the this building and their worker level. The worker levels up in time by working. The higher their level, the faster and more efficient they will be.
- Manage Workers: Lets you change which worker is assigned to work at this hut. There can only be one worker at each hut. Note: this only works if you have turned the worker hiring mode in the [Town Hall](../../source/buildings/townhall) block to manual, otherwise your citizens will be hired automatically.
- Recall Worker: Recalls the worker at this building to their hut block. You might use it if they are stuck somewhere, you want to see what they have, or want to give them something directly.
- Build Options: Lets you create a build, upgrade, reposition, or repair build order for this hut. To learn more about the building system, please visit the [Builder](../../source/workers/builder) page.
- Delivery Priority: You can set the priority that a [deliveryman](../../source/workers/deliveryman) will visit this hut (ten is the highest, one is the lowest). You can also set whether it is automatic, meaning it changes automatically; static, meaning it stays to what you set it no matter what; or never, meaning the deliveryman will never visit this hut. (If you choose the last option, you can't set the priority.)
- List of Recipes and Teach Recipe: When clicking the list of recipes button, you see all the recipes you have taught this hut and can remove them. When clicking teach recipe, it opens a 3x3 crafting grid which allows you to teach this hut recipes (not the worker).
- Inventory: Here you can access the hut block's storage, where the worker at this hut takes and deposits materials. They will also use any [racks](../../source/decoblocks/rack) or chests in the hut, so be sure to check those as well!
By pressing the arrow button in the top right corner of the GUI, you will be taken to page 2 of the GUI where you will find the following:
- Required Resources: These are the resource that the Builder will need for the Build/Upgrade it is currently working on. This amount will change as it places the blocks and will show only what blocks it still needs to place. The blocks in Red color are the ones neither you nor the builder has in it's inventory
- Inventory: Same as above, allows you to view the huts storage.
Important Note: After pressing the BUILD button you will see a new list of all the items required for that build. There are some options here, but the most important option is that you HAVE To CONFIRM the Build by pressing the Build Building button so the build order is created.
After pressing the Build Options button you have a few options to consider:
Important Note: After pressing the UPGRADE button you will see a new list of all the items required for that build. There are some options here, but the most important option is that you HAVE To CONFIRM the Build by pressing the Upgrade Building button so the build order is created.
- Schematic Style: Here you can verify the "style' of schematics you have currently. You can change the style to see the list of items required for other styles, but it's not recommended that you change a different style from here since it will most likely be in a different position. Since each schematic is different.
- Builder: Here is where you can choose what builder you want on the project. If it is out of a builders range, this is where you can manually assign one.
- List: This is the list of resources that the Builder will need for the schematic style selected.
- Repair: This is to repair a building back to it's current level according to the schematic. This will remove any changes that a player has made to the current building.
- Upgrade: When you are ready to upgrade to the next level.
- Reposition: To Move the building from it's current location. After pressing this button you will be taken to the 3D view of the building tool GUI so you can move it to where you want it.
A few things to consider
For the placement of the Builder’s Hut, you should consider having the hut in the middle of where you plan to have the rest of your buildings so that the builder has less of a distance to walk between it’s hut and the build sites.
The builder will not start another build assignment until it has finished the current one.
You can go to the Town Hall’s GUI and click on the Work Orders tab and cancel the current build as well as arrange the priorities of the other build orders you have there. If you cancel a work order, (and it was being built already) when you assign the build order again, the builder will continue where it left off.
Any block the builder removes (dirt, wood, planks, glass, etc.) while building and/or upgrading it will keep it in it’s inventory until the inventory becomes full, or it may dump any unnecessary items at the end of a build/upgrade into the Builder’s Hut Inventory.